Basilica And Cloister Of St. Clare
Via Santa Chiara, 49/c T. 081 5516673
The complex was built between 1310 and 1340 by the will of Robert of Anjou and Queen Sancha of Aragon, near the western wall. The kings, both devoted to St. Francis of Assisi and St. Clare, wanted to build a little Franciscan town, which would welcome the Clares at the monastery and the Friars Minor in the adjacent convent.
On August 4, 1943 the church was almost completely destroyed by an aerial bombardment. It was rebuilt and restored under the direction of Mario Zampino, according to the original Gothic style. Ten years later, on August 4, 1953, the church was reopened for worship. The Cloister, with its unique maiolica decoration, has over time become a symbol of the city.